The Municipality of Tampilisan was once a barangay of the Municiaplity of Liloy. It is located in the southermost tip of the province of Zamboanga del Norte along the boundary line of Zamboanga del Sur, traversed by the National Highway to Zamboanga City. the municipality has a distance of 152 km. from Dipolog City, the capital of the province.

                The name “Tampilisan’ originated from a tree called ‘Tampilis’. This tree can grow at about one (1) to three (3) fathoms in height and belongs to the palm family. Its sturdy part when splitted, was used by the native Subanen Tribe, as rafts and siding of their huts. The fruits were used for their chewing of ‘Mama’ as a substitute for betel nuts. Since these trees were abundant in the area, the place thus called by the natives as ‘Tampilisan’.

                In the  early months of 1978, because of the concentration of population and potentials of the area and through consulatation of the local leaders, Assemblyman Guardson Lood filed in the Interim, Batas Pambansa Bilang 14 – ‘An Act Creating the Municipality of Tampilisan, Province of Zamboanga del Norte’ enacted and approved on December 22, 1978. The newly created municipality originally composed of seven (7) barangays namely; Poblacion, Cabong, Galingon, Situbo, Lawasan, Molos and New Dapitan with the Poblacion as the seat of the municipal government.

                Today, the Municipality of Tampilisan has grown and is now classified as a 6th class municipality comprised with thirteen (13) more barangays namely; Sandayong, Tilubog, Tininggaan, Tubod , Balacbaan, Banbanan, Zamboanga del Norte Agricultural College (ZNAC), Camul, New Barili, Sto. Niño, Farmington, Lumbayao and Malila T.